Monsters In My Head

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the lord my soul to keep
Wake me up before I’m dead
Don’t bury me with monsters in my head

The life I lead is filled with sin
I was broken, so I let the devil in
There is a void where my heart used to be
You claim to know me, but still you do not see
the permanent darkness that follows me
If there is a way out, I cannot see
People come and people go
But people always leave

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the lord my soul to keep
Wake me up before I’m dead
Don’t bury me with monsters in my head

An adolescence with a tortured soul
Without you I can never be whole
A voice inside my head telling me to fill my role
To embark on the journey that will take me home
For all my sins I must now atone
People all around me, but I stand alone

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the lord my soul to keep
Wake me up before I’m dead
Don’t bury me with monsters in my head

As night comes, the voices get stronger
Please lord, I can’t take it any longer
Fatigued but I dare not sleep
The road to perdition may be steep
But the voices assure me my entrance will be cheap
Through every crack within my mind, the voices seep

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the lord my soul to keep
Wake me up before I’m dead
Don’t bury me with monsters in my head

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2011

9 thoughts on “Monsters In My Head

  1. Vampire Weather says:

    Somewhere in here I hear the flavor of Tech N9ne as he sung K.O.D. Or Metallica referencing the darkness in the world. But the music I might hear behind it is more like Aparat or Bon Iver. Masterfully done. I feel it in my soul. Sorry, I relate everything to music 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

