Shelter From The Storm

When my eyes were filled with scorn,
and when my heart was torn
When all I did was mourn,
and the loss of my innocence tooted its horn
You were my shelter from the storm

I do not write for fame
I do not write to make a name
I write to shield myself from the pain
I write to keep my senses sane
Since, in life, it never cease to rain
I pray to God it was not in vain
I do not write to gain recognition
I write since it is my only mission
I do not write for your admission
I write to stop my own submission

When all hope faded
My burning light, severely jaded
When my outcome looked so shaded
You were the one who saved it
You were the one who helped evade it
So my memory of you, forever sacred
When all I did was mourn
and the loss of my innocence tooted its horn
You were my shelter from the storm

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2011

8 thoughts on “Shelter From The Storm

  1. heartofbella says:

    this was beautiful! I loved it! I feel we all write for ourselves….but sometimes, just some times it touches the right ones….and right now, it has touched me very much so. Thank you for you writing 🙂 xo

  2. Vampire Weather says:

    “I write to shield myself from the pain
    I write to keep my senses sane”

    I feel these lines strongly, and they echo in my own soul. You have painted another beautiful word picture here, my friend! Masterfully done!

Share Your Thoughts

