In My Dreams

Last night I had a dream
I was walking on the shores of a beautiful beach
the wind my only company – I felt completely at peace
Even as the sky darkened and the clouds evolved into a storm
I felt perfectly at ease
As the waves grew in strength and the wind roared behind me
I wandered off into the ocean –
thinking to myself that I was finally home again

Last night I had a dream
That Ashley and I were reunited
I knew that I should, but I could not fight it
She convinced me that this time would be different
Naïve as only a dreamer can be – I listened

Last night I had a dream
Of a padded room, restraining me
swallowed by my own insanity
They locked me in to keep me from hurting me
But still they left my thoughts with me

Last night I had a dream
I dreamt of the world, uniting for a valid cause
The pettiness of politics erased itself
No, as a matter of fact, it replaced itself
As one we stood – united in the fight against prejudice
Rallied and marched against those who opposed us
When all of the sudden – I heard the sounds of gunshots

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012

****
I know I have been remarkably inactive lately, for that, I apologize. I am not experiencing writers block, not at all, actually I am censuring myself a little since my blog has began to reach a lot of people who are really close to me, and since I pride myself with saying what is on my mind, or in my heart, at all times.. I tend too hurt people. So in order to keep writing while remaining true to myself, as well as not hurting anybody who does not deserve it, I had to sharpen my “sneaking” skills. Much love. /TPG

15 thoughts on “In My Dreams

  1. Vampire Weather says:

    I read your note at the bottom, and I absolutely relate. I don’t stop posting because of writer’s block, I just simply do not want people to see some of it. Thank you for choosing to share! I enjoyed experiencing your thoughts

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Exactly, some posts are meant to share with you guys, but I can’t forcefully stop people who, in some way, inspired my pieces from reading them and that is drama I can live without. I appreciate you taking your time to read, and as always, I enjoy reading yours as well.

  2. bipolarmuse says:

    I completely understand the disclaimer as well… and keep my oldest children (16, and 17yrs old) from reading my blog. Sometimes I feel that they should so they know how much I love them, but with the good comes the bad. 😦
    “They locked me in to keep me from hurting me
    But still they left my thoughts with me”
    I very much relate to this… sometimes the thoughts are the true prison… most painful.
    Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Yes, I guess we face a similar dilemma. I don’t believe in censoring, but I can accept not publishing every single piece, especially if they are inspired by others. Again, yes. You are absolutely right there. I argue that the mind is where the real suffering takes place, and being put in forced solitude is one of my biggest fears actually!

      No, thank you for reading! 🙂

  3. unwrittentruth says:

    wow. that’s really powerful. most interesting piece by far. Interesting how it evolves. I loved the first stanza. i love that idea of peace amid a storm… but as, you illustrate, that never lasts for long. so well composed. 5 stars does not do it justice!

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Thank you! I feel humbled by your words and I always enjoy when somebody deciphers my work! You got it “right”, I’m actually quite pleased that you picked up on that 🙂

      Thanks again!

  4. lscotthoughts says:

    Yes, this is awesome, TPG, and a profound ending! I’m playing catch up from being away during the holidays and for some reason, have not been receiving your new posts…I’ll figure that out! Anyway, I also understand your disclaimer..some poems are meant for the authors only…Happy New Year to you, too!
    Lauren

  5. GJ Scobie says:

    I can relate to what you say at the end of this posting. It is something everyone who is expressing themselves has to face. I hide behind imagery in my lyrics. It’s my way of dealing with it. I have also tended to hide behind the lead character of the draft novel I’ve finished up and say, that’s John speaking, not me. Of course how much of me is in there is anyone’s guess. However, do not stop writing because of those around you. Your friends will understand.

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Thanks for your tips, I’m facing pretty much the same difficulties with my short story/poems, I try to explain to them that I (me) is not saying these things, it’s a character. Obviously, you can find me in the character, but I am not the entire character. It’s just fiction!

Share Your Thoughts

