The Angel’s Avenger

Alone she stands, this hopeless girl
Carrying a broken heart
Baring a shattered soul
Nursing an emotional state
Outside of her control
The journey of her life
Has taken its toll

Her vision is fine and she can still feel
Down goes yet another pill, a shield for her will
Happiness torn to pieces
Both parents deceased, due to diseases
Alone from an early age, and her caretaker deceived her

Alone she stands, this girl without hope
Posted beneath a burning street light
Her figure pretty, at least from a distance
Up close you spot the sickness
The lifeless glance of her once wonderful eyes
The daughter of a pastor
Eagerly awaiting the rapture

The moan of the colleague to her father
As he releases his devilish seed
Awakes her from an uneasy sleep
The decline in her health is steep
Not much will remain for the reaper to reap
But, this once so lively girl has lost her will to weep

***
Intoxicated I stumble into the alley of the past
Shadowed by my nightmares, so I move fast
Inside of my coat – I grab the solution
Once and for all, I shall cleanse the world of this pollution
I approach him without hesitation
Even from afar I know his final destination
I switch into a sprint, the sounds of my wet shoes his final hint
As he turns I empty the clip
I walk past the corpse of the devil, and enters the familiar house
Inside I find the battered girl, once supposed to be my spouse
I lift her gently, holding death at arms length
I tell her to savor her strength
and I whisper,  “You are finally safe”
©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012

16 thoughts on “The Angel’s Avenger

  1. bipolarmuse says:

    Beautiful!!! Tragic.
    “I lift her gently, holding death at arms length
    I tell her to savor her strength
    and I whisper, “You are finally safe” so many emotions.
    The very first part of this poem, i could have sworn you were writing about me 🙂 lol.

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      (maybe it is better to answer fully in one comment, haha). It’s a little bit sad that you were able to relate, but it is a reality for some of us. I actually named it “Numbness” first, and I understand how it can feel

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Thank you! I was watching a news special about sexual abuse and I couldn’t stop myself. But I forced a “happy” ending just because I couldn’t bare the thought of the girl dying! I guess I thought I put her through enough already

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Glad to hear that! This one, along with “My Invisible Companion”, “Greed”, “Chain Reactions”, “The Void”, “Letter To Simon” and “Apathy” seems to my “best work” judging by people’s reactions, and I’m proud about this one making it there! I’m actually making it into a short story as well.

Share Your Thoughts

