Night Terrors

 I should have known, right from the start
That there are no cures, to an unfeeling heart
I still feel the scars, where your initials are carved
I flee the past, but I can only run that far
So I hide in the bottle, let it flush away the pain
But my demons catch up to me, and it’s slowly driving me insane
My mind is haunted, and my soul forever stained
The burdens of my night terrors are weighing me down
I dream of the mistress of misery, handing me her crown
I watch God and his angels reject my applications with a frown
Stranded at the river Styx, but the ferryman won’t take my coin
So, I lurk in the shadows of the valley of death
I overhear the travellers of the light, reciting that they need not fear me
And, yet they won’t go near me
I roam the streets of Manhattan, but there is no one in sight
The sun rises above me, but I am denied its light
But most of all, I dream of you
and that frightens me, since those visions are true

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012

13 thoughts on “Night Terrors

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Thanks for the compliment! Your mind can be the most dreadful of wardens and I’m sad that people relate so well, but glad that I’m not the only one whose mind spins out of control at times!

  1. lifescompass1 says:

    It’s true that death is never far away, this is true for all of us. Our dreams are usually one of three things: A message from God, a deception or a reflection of your life. It’s an extremely important distinction.

    There are cures, even for a broken heart. Your soul does not belong to anyone for them to carve their name on you. You soul has but one owner which is God.

    It is also true that the travelers of the light need not fear you, because you are born one of them, one of us, you are born a son to your father, which is only one. You were born to know the goodness of the heart and the strength to walk up-rightly.

    There is always hope, regardless of who you are. Remember the feeling of writing things that show the goodness of your heart, (such as the post for your sister), remember how it feels and know that you can live in goodness, awake or asleep.

    Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened. Matthew 7

    May God bless you my friend.

    LC

Share Your Thoughts

