Broken Mirrors

Property of ...

How do I love, when I lack the ability to trust?
How do I trust, when I do not trust myself?
How do I recover, when I feel so crushed?
Somewhere along my journey, I found myself lost
I was the one who was supposed to make it
To break the shackles of expectations, no matter the cost
I was prepared to swim in a frozen sea, walk through fire
My inspiration, my motivation, my ability to trust
All erased, replaced, beaten senseless by lust
I turned the prettiest of love’s, into a affair with desire
Now every day is a lie, I live life in different disguises
Constantly searching, but life no longer hold surprises
I am drowning in the ocean of despair
I do not fear pain, nor death I fear
I fear emotions, and I fear being alive
Besieged during the nights, I feel my sanity fry
Awakens in the the garden of the prettiest lie
The lie that, no matter your past, you can have it all
I climb the tower of deception, and embrace the fall

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012
@thepoeticgoblin 

20 thoughts on “Broken Mirrors

  1. Pete Armetta says:

    Beautiful longing and soul searching and quite affective too bud. The vulnerability and accessibility of this writing is just beautiful and hard hitting.

    Great morning coffee reading.

    Pete

  2. Vampire Weather says:

    I fear emotions, and I fear being alive
    Besieged during the nights, I feel my sanity fry
    Awakens in the the garden of the prettiest lie
    The lie that, no matter your past, you can have it all
    I climb the tower of deception, and embrace the fall”

    This is strong, my friend, and beautifully said. Inspiring!!!

  3. BlueGem says:

    “Somewhere along my journey, I found myself lost
    I was the one who was supposed to make it
    To break the shackles of expectations, no matter the cost
    I was prepared to swim in a frozen sea, walk through fire
    My inspiration, my motivation, my ability to trust
    All erased, replaced, beaten senseless by lust”

    This is very beautiful expression here! I wrote one with a similar theme, recently. Perhaps I should post it as soon as I get the chance. Thanks for sharing, Alex.

  4. Scott Mitchell says:

    Wow, so deep and amazingly written. Life is a learning process isn’t it? I guess we learn what to avoid at least. Past can be forgotten and move on to better things, but avoid the ones that are habitual offenders for sure.
    Love your blog here man

Share Your Thoughts

