As The World Turns

A concealed glance over my shoulder
Suddenly, the world feels colder
Continuously reminded that it will never be over
***
I can sense its presence
I may wish it, but I can never deny its existence
I will never escape it, no matter the distance
Smothered by my own will, and lack of resistance
****
Awake in the eve as the sky grows darker
I have this hole in my soul, I call it the devil’s marker
It robbed me off everything, even her
I now plead vengeance, and I shall have it on the world
It is closing in on me, I can hear it in my tracks
From the path of insanity, there is no turning back

©Alexander Berg Mattsson

7 thoughts on “As The World Turns

  1. Pete Armetta says:

    This is like something profound in content and stylistically like 18th century literature. In tone and it’s existential bent. i.e. Dostoyevsky, Tolstoy AND/OR Emerson, Thoreau

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Wow, that was probably the highest praise I’ve ever received. I am truly honored that you even thought of my words in the same segment as those authors’, thank you so much!

  2. bipolarmuse says:

    I agree with Pete. I was just reading a poetry book composed of many different poets and this poem has a similar “feel” to it as what I was reading.
    Very good! The picture fits very good as well…♥

Share Your Thoughts

