The Sins of The Past

Her body may be broken, but her mind remains strong
I will her to fight, but she has fought for too long
The sterile environment enclosing us, proves me wrong
One cannot halter the collector nor mute his heartrending song
I wish I could have been the man you deserved all along
But we were wrong for each other, first I had to grow some
For what seemed an eternity, we balanced on love’s slippery stones
Satan in my ear, urging me to guide you to the unknown
One cannot halter the collector nor mute his heartrending song

As your soul flicker, and your eyes turn blank
As your warmth disappear, and you forever abandon fear
and I am left to contemplate:
The wonderful betrayals that I committed
The invigorating suffering that I permitted
The infernal yearning that she transmitted
I was merely a broken spirit
Haunted by the dark, despised by the light
A stranger in my own skin, stripped of all rights
Repulsed by my bare heartbeat
Disgusted by the numbness that engulfed me
Condemned without hope for redemption
Destined for eternal denial of ascension

©Alexander Berg Mattsson

12 thoughts on “The Sins of The Past

  1. jhasmoments says:

    Hey 🙂
    How are you? Nice write 🙂
    Thought you would like this idea 🙂 🙂

    FWFWFW>>>>From asoulwalker:

    I was thinking about getting a group of poets together and having someone pick a topic for all of us to write a poem about. I would then post all the poems on this blog. I think it might be interesting. Now if you are a writer but have not written much poetry (or any) this does not mean that you should not consider it. If anyone is interested leave a comment below.

    click on link below:

    https://asoulswalk.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/a-question-to-the-readers/#comment-1415

  2. Vampire Weather says:

    Wow. This is powerful, but I find myself saying that often about your deep lines. I love the imagery here, and relate to the overall mood of it quite strongly. Well done, Alexander!

  3. teeceecounsel says:

    Great writing! The ill traits like betrayal often creep in looking negligible but they grow to take over. Imagine becoming a stranger in ones own skin! Doing the right things and being the right people at all times would solidify love and not permit devastation! A lot to ponder upon!

  4. Shyannah says:

    I really like this one! Love the strong emotions and contradictions. The passion in willing her to fight and the sad recognition that she had fought too long. And the regret. Too often the hardest things to forgive ourselves for are the ones we don’t have the chance to make right. But forgiveness is the only way (and the hardest) to move on.
    I was merely a broken spirit.

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Thank you for dropping by, and for the long, and thoughtful comment. I really appreciate it! Glad that you picked up on the contradictions and that you seem to have grasped the key points I tried to make 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

