A New Dawn

 I am casted in the role of insanity’s lover
And I fear that my act is taking over.
I am merely human, yet life is a bitch and I can’t control her
And the weight of the world lies on my shoulders.
Crowded by people, yet I stand alone
Nobody in my corner, once my cover is blown.
Incapable of trust and allergic to affection
Protective of my heart, so I sever all connections
If you get too close, I will act like I have lost all attraction
Once again, fear triumphs love and I show no reaction.
My tongue vicious, and my intentions foul
An erratic mind, with a deteriorating soul
Contemplating whether I will ever be whole.
I seek refuge in you, although I act indifferent
Subconsciously aware that with you it is different

Music.
©Alexander Berg Mattsson

12 thoughts on “A New Dawn

  1. Unsungpoet says:

    You articulate this so beautifully. But if you are describing yourself you are not alone in all this, not to say that you are not a unique individual; you certainly are but I think there are many people who keep themselves and their heart guarded and feel the insanity (the opening line, by the way, is awesome)

  2. Joanna says:

    I truly love this! I love how you describe that you are unable to trust or show affection toward anyone, but then you meet someone that changes things. Love has a way of sneaking up on you. Great job. Also, I wanted you to know that I nominated you for the Sunshine Award.

  3. GJ Scobie says:

    Getting better all the time my friend. I probably would have used the word ‘cast’ in the opening line as I think it scans better but great job!

Share Your Thoughts

