Scribblings on the Wall

My dearest angel, I hear you calling my name
The desperation in your voice is mesmerizing, but my reaction the same
Apathetic, heartless and always concealing my sincerest pain
Inside of me, there is emptiness, just a shallow plain
I live in the shadows, wallowing in the rain
I can break all the barriers, yet the hurt remains
A pain so wild, and vivid, one I cannot tame
A hollow human, I am an empty frame
My dearest angel, I hear you calling my name

In the chessboard of my own life, I am merely a pawn
You, my love, is the queen: and thy word is law
1000 years is not enough, to remove the scars from what I saw
That beautiful day, we spent on Beelzebub’s lawn
As the sky cried blood, and my heart was eaten raw
It was you who tore it out, using love’s most darkest claw
But in you, my love, I can see no flaw
In the chessboard of my own life, I am merely a pawn

My dearest angel, I hear you calling my name
In the darkest of nights, in the brightest of days
A lonesome bearer of light is kneeling, he becomes prey
Fighting his fate and ignoring the signs, he is slain
I wish to follow him into the afterlife, but I have forgotten how to pray
I have transformed into a monster, something only the Devil can claim
For years on about, I prosper under his reign
Until the day of reckoning, when I am freed of all pain
I lift the pistol and fire, to wash off all the stains
(Yes) My dearest angel, I hear you calling my name

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012

2 thoughts on “Scribblings on the Wall

Share Your Thoughts

