The cuts of love are razor-sharp

Image

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”
― Lao Tzu

***
Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about love and the dreadful task of telling somebody that you love them for the first time. Since I recently cut the safety line, took on my blindfold and leaped into the adventure that is a new relationship, I have spent numerous hours trying to decipher what the vaguest of terms actually means to me, namely: “love“.

After a couple of soul-searching sessions, (with old scriptures and paintings, some google searches and some text message conversations) I have finally defined what I, TPG, mean when I say that I love somebody: To me, it all boils down to whether you can picture yourself living a happy life without the person in question. If the answer to the question is “YES”, you probably don’t love him/her enough (or at all), but if you feel that electrifying sting, that only sudden heartbreak can cause, whenever you picture losing that person, you most definitely love that person. It doesn’t have to be harder than that.

After I came to this conclusion, and the mandatory jubilant self-high five, I began to map out the people that I actually love enough to be miserable without. The list was quite significant, so I decided to add another dimension to this inner debate of mine, namely: whether or not I’d prefer death over losing the person at hand. This wasn’t that helpful, since I have known for quite some time now, that I’d prefer to “leave” before everybody that I love, since I don’t fear death, but I do fear being the last one left. However, I know that my parents, grandparents and older siblings would hunt me down in the afterlife if I died in their place, and the same can be said about the few friends I call my “bros”, and after realizing that, I understood just how lucky I am, to love people that undeniably love me as well.

/1love, TPG.

8 thoughts on “The cuts of love are razor-sharp

  1. Pete Armetta says:

    CONGRATS on the new love, awesome bud. And yes it’s an interesting thing to contemplate. Me being the lover that I am I never have a problem saying it. And it certainly is bold to get to that point where you’re tiptoeing over that line and taking the chance. Keep it going!

  2. GJ Scobie says:

    Interesting debate. The word love is so over used these days to be almost meaningless so it is good to understand what you mean by it and then use it accordingly in it’s true sense as you understand it to be. Us poets need to reclaim it. All the best in the future.

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Exactly. I share your sentiment completely that “Love” is a word that is losing its “actual” meaning and it’s being used as a synonyme for “like” rather than something far more profound.. Yes, we poets definitely need to reclaim it! Likewise

  3. bipolarmuse says:

    Very insightful… I really like your line of thought and will try to apply it with myself. I hope I can find that one person who I would be broken over if I lost that love. One day.
    And congrats on your new found love. ♥

Share Your Thoughts

