Respect

I coolly undress her and push her to the bed
I used to worship her but my respect is dead
Belittling, abuse, threats – but tears are no longer shed
I have vivid dreams of burying her in a sea of red
Force her to her knees, have her greet the lead
I used to worship her but my respect is dead
Fallen victim to the words she said
A casualty of the games she played
I used to worship her but my respect is dead.

©thepoeticgoblin, 2012

*******
DISCLAIMER:  This poem is a piece of fiction. I do NOT treat women like this, and I never will. My mother raised me better than that. /Alexander

9 thoughts on “Respect

  1. Pete Armetta says:

    I’m sure you don’t treat women this way. But I also know it’s human nature to have a full range of emotions, and from time to time we can just be damn nasty people in our minds. 🙂 Nice one dude- assertive of you hheh

    1. thepoeticgoblin says:

      Absolutely, and let’s just say that some people doesn’t exactly have the right to command respect from others! Glad that you liked it, and also for the vote of confidence about how I treat women! Have a great weekend

  2. bipolarmuse says:

    WOW! This was a very powerful and heavy piece. Glad to know it is fictional but it really gives a glimpse of the strong feelings that come along with losing respect for someone. Great write. ♥

Share Your Thoughts

