The Bittersweet Taste of Revenge

A cold wind blows.
Framed in the night by a million stars’ fading glow
I remember it clearly, it all happened so fast but seemed so slow
I guess that is true what they say: You reap what you sow
I am stuck in a moment, with emotions that I am unable to show
A verbal assault, where each word represented a blow
The visible pain in your beautiful face, as your spirit broke
My raging fury when he grabbed to choke
His heartless laughter as he treated your life as a joke
How I staggered towards the house, covered in smoke
The snapping sound of a broken bone
Your cold, lifeless eyes piercing mine – but I was too slow
A betrayal so grand, never to be atoned
How I wanted to embrace your body, tell you that you were not alone
But he was still alive, and his deed must be avenged
I was ready to die, for the bittersweet taste of revenge.

As the fire roared, giving light to the darkest of nights
I reached for a metal pipe, striking him over the head with all my might
He fell to his knee, severely injured and incapable to flee
I approached him slowly, and the bastard tried to plead
For his tainted soul, and his hands who bore an angel’s blood
The murderer of the one woman, that I had ever loved
So, I strike him again – and drags his body through the mud.

A cold wind bows.
I am framed in the night, by the glow of a million and one stars
And yours, my love, is the most beautiful by far.
****
The sudden silence that follows a murder
A glance over my shoulder, to make sure nobody heard her
I take flight into the fire bred night
When the lover of my victim, suddenly appear
I turn around, paralyzed by fear
My skull in pieces, my heartbeat racing:
Death is near.

@Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012

12 thoughts on “The Bittersweet Taste of Revenge

  1. doncarroll says:

    this is a gripping piece. my take is that it involves the muse. the fight is with the muse but at the end the muse wins out. i wasn’t expecting the ending as it turned out, but you worked it well. as far as my take, i very well could not be accurate.

      1. doncarroll says:

        i really enjoy trying to interpret poems when it’s connected to me in some way. i’m glad that you were blown away by what i said. by all means don’t give anything away.

  2. celestealluvial says:

    Wow, a powerful and dramatic read and with a twist at the end for good measure….this was really great….I was on the edge of my seat the whole time…..nicely done……
    Celeste

Share Your Thoughts

