The Name of My Firstborn Son

“As a rule, men worry more about what they can’t see than about what they can” – Julius Caesar

*******
If I’m ever lucky enough to raise a son, 
I intend to name him Julius. Yes, as a tribute to one of the greatest warlords, leaders and minds that ever graced our globe. Also, since my name is Alexander, a name related to Caesar’s biggest source of inspiration, namely: Alexander the Great, I think it would make for an interesting analogy of my family’s “heritage”.

To me, Julius Caesar was always more than a man of history, he was also a wise man, who left us buildings, ideas and most importantly: words. The quote above is just one of many that I consider to be worthy of remembering, or to serve as excellent examples of food for thought.

13 thoughts on “The Name of My Firstborn Son

      1. Sheikh. Amna Rafiq says:

        Oh! You know what I didn’t noticed the first sentenced though I read this post twice… I damn careless… Well sorry for the early congratz 😛

  1. Jane Thorne says:

    Interesting thoughts here Alex…I shall go and have a look at Julius’s other quotes. Thanks for this 😀 x

  2. Kana Tyler says:

    I knew my first son’s name as far back as Junior High… It’s the Family Name (the one I was supposed to have, if I’d turned out a different “flavor”)… And sure enough, here we have Christian, now age eleven. 🙂 Here’s looking forward to your Julius, someday…

Share Your Thoughts

