Farewell, So Long, Goodbye

My hands, feet and legs are cold to the touch
Heart racing, but my mind is in no rush
Heavy breathing, I am pacing – simply too much
My young body broken, fingers wrapped in a clutch
It hurts so much to inhale, the thickness in my throat
The light of life flickers before it finally burns out
And it is so dark here, cold, the loneliest route
I wish I could speak but my voice is mute
Your screams terrifies me, and your pain is dear
and I wish I could comfort, caress, remove the fear
I can hear you are in distress but I am not there
To save you, my love, the one with whom I shared
It all, but my mission is complete: You are spared
I am sorry I had to leave, but please do not despair
Wherever I am going, your place is here
I am walking down a path you cannot follow
I feel light, released from my burdens yet so hollow
My flesh may disappear, but my soul survives
And remember what I told you, about how love never dies
I will see you again, in the afterlife
But until then it is: Farewell, So long,
Goodbye.

 Inspiration.
©Alexander Berg Mattson, 2012

10 thoughts on “Farewell, So Long, Goodbye

  1. doncarroll says:

    like this alex. to me there certainly is kinda like a two voice factor here. one that is filled with all the pain and where the one just says i’ve done all i could it’s time to move on. it really makes me think here. there is more here but i haven’t pieced it altogether yet.

  2. Mira Jay says:

    O’ Alex within the tear this was plotted, it’s still full of light
    “Death is not extinguishing the light,it is only putting out the lamp because the dawn has come.” Tagore

Share Your Thoughts

