The Lone Wolf

I am ready for whatever life decides to throw
Constantly ducking fate’s forceful blows
I keep on striding against the tide
With no one by my side
I will die before I swallow my pride
Disgusted by the weak, and their woeful cries
Nothing but contempt in my eyes
As they lay idle, just waiting to die
That was the night I became one with the sky.

My heart is giving in to the pain I have caused
When I was too naive to realize what I lost
By rejecting the only person willing to pay the cost
Of following me into the permanent frost
Nothing but contempt in their eyes
As I lay idle, just waiting to die
The pain is mind-numbing, withering bones
The alpha male forced off his throne
And I must walk the last mile alone.

I am not prepared for what happens now
I cannot grip the fact that my existence
Is over within seconds, and the deceiving distance
Between life and death becomes so reminiscent
Of drowning in the dark, no longer self-sufficient
And the pain is both vivid, and persistent
I am flying to the highest zone
To meet the creator in his home
and I am alone.

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2012

7 thoughts on “The Lone Wolf

  1. teeceecounsel says:

    The journey to fulfilment is a lonely one. Only very few dare to take it. Wider is the way that leads to destruction, many walk in it. The lonely and narrow way may be tough, but there’s light at the end of the tunnel.

  2. doncarroll says:

    the alpha male thrown off his throne in my opinion is the keg to this whole piece. that collapsing factors all around it. the lone wolf can be implied as to these few words taken out of whitesnake song. “i walk along the only road i’ve ever known” definitely like this !!

  3. Karen Rivelli says:

    This was so beautifully written God Bless all the animals with no voices…I shall always help where needed if humanly possible…it’s my duty and my love of animals to do so…may all be safe tonight…

Share Your Thoughts

