The World’s Got Me Down

©Alexander Berg Mattsson
©Alexander Berg Mattsson

Intruder, intruder, intruder –
The walls are falling, the sky’s calling
Beliefs are colliding, innocent children are dying
and our governments are lying

Intruder, intruder, intruder –

The roof is falling, the sky’s calling
Beliefs are colliding, innocent children are dying
and our governments are lying
***
I am living life looking over my shoulder
All while the angel of safety refuses to let me hold her
I am staring into the abyss of terror
and I know something within our genes must contain a fatal error.

The streets are on fire
but I can’t call for my guardian angel, they may try her
Buildings are coming down,  people are dying
The angel of death promises to keep me safe, but I think she’s lying
The streets are on fire.

I am floating in the night
Trying to put my mind off of the gory sight
Of broken hearts and hopeless days
I am riding on a ferris wheel made of children’s skulls
and I struggle to get off but they disregard what I say.

I wake up without a heartbeat
I want to escape the nightmare but I have misplaced my feet
I wish to close my eyes but they are glued open by deceit
I try to turn it off but my hands have lost their fingers
In the war on terror there can be no winner.

I’m tied up in the backseat of a family car
My warden is drunk out of his senses so we won’t get far
I glance out the window but all I see is bars
He grabs me somewhere private
and then the pain starts.

I am high off of adrenaline and I am loving the rush
There are families to tear apart and there are skulls to crush
I am laughing like a madman as I put out light after light
Very few of them are able to put up a fight
and I know it will just escalate the violence into something even bigger –
but I still pull the trigger.
***

Intruder, intruder, intruder –
The walls are falling, the sky’s calling
Beliefs are colliding, innocent children are dying
and our governments are lying

Intruder, intruder, intruder –

The roof is falling, the sky’s calling
Beliefs are colliding, innocent children are dying
and our governments are lying

©Alexander Berg Mattsson, 2013
https://www.facebook.com/thepoeticgoblin 

7 thoughts on “The World’s Got Me Down

  1. arabian roses says:

    It’s like a horryfying scene taking place in front of my eyes ,i must say that your words have the power to breathe life in thoughts ,gorgeous thoughts, except two thoughts that I didn’t like 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

