Hiatus

Maybe just my love died.
Maybe just my pen lied
Maybe I lost my passion
Maybe words transcribed into action
Or maybe just my love died.
Went to sleep, but never woke up
Arose but never rose up
Or maybe I just kept my mind shut
They say pressure makes diamonds
Well, maybe I’m just rough
Maybe life changed
Maybe I felt estranged
As the world immersed into chaos
Maybe I lost my voice, my pathos
As Alan washed ashore
Humanity drifted away
Maybe I drowned with him
Or maybe just my love died.
As borders became fenced
Natural compassion became tensed
Maybe I crossed with them
Or maybe just my love died.
As bigots reclaimed the world
Words became just words
Maybe I was just too hurt
Or maybe just my love died.
The biggest test of our time
Basic decency now considered tough
Maybe I wasn’t brave enough
Or maybe just my love died.

Share Your Thoughts

